Sectional champion Boykin leads Red Raiders into District One South meet

Coatesville will be sending three wrestlers into the fray along with 30 other teams at Spring-Ford  By Dave Conard  Sports Editor,

Matt Brownback battled his way to a fourth place finish for the Red Raiders

ROYERSFORD—The Red Raiders will be sending a three-man contingent to Spring-Ford High School on Friday to compete in the PIAA District One AAA South championships.

More over they will all have their sights set on one target, a PIAA Southeastern Regional berth, of which each weight class has five available for next week’s state final qualifiers at Oxford High School. 

There is good chance that the battle between 220-pounder Steve Annan and Coatesville’s Mike Boykin may be one of the best that will be seen as Boykin pinned Annan from Unionville following a 28 second pin by Boykin in the quarter finals.

Boykin then claimed the championship by scoring a 6-1 decision over Downingtown West’s Matt Bartalotta in the quarter finals champion Mike Boykin of Coatesville, to bring home the gold medal from section four.

“Of course its’ always good to get matches done as quickly as you can,” said Boykin. “If you can get an early pin it helps save energy and strength, especially in a long day like today. It’s great to have team mates here to push each other Noah (Stevens) and Matt (Brownback) have been bringing it all day long.”

Mike Boykin recorder two pins in less than a minute combined to set up a quarter final match en route to the championship in 220 pound bracket

A pair of runner up finishes by Unionville’s John Hartz at 160 pounds and Will Hart at 285 pounds, who both fell to grapplers from Pac-10 power house and back-to-back champions Owen J. Roberts, bodes well for the Ches-Mont League at the district meet this weekend as both men battled through the brackets posting three wins apiece until the finals.

“It’s good to know the guys that are here,” said heavyweight Will Hart. “I would actually almost rather not have wrestled them before, I have two moves I like to use and if they have seen me it takes away my advantage. It’s good having teams like (Downingtown) West, (Downingtown) East and Owen J. (Roberts) here, to be the best you have to beat the best.

Coatesville will be represented at 132 pounds by Noah Stevens, who snagged third place overall by fighting through the consolation bracket with back-to-back wins to work his way into the mix.

At Boyertown on Saturday, 145-pounder Matt Brownback was solid early on as he scored a pin and a decision in the first two rounds before having to settle for a fourth place finish.

The District One South AAA championship action starts Friday evening and carries over with the quarter, semis and finals on Saturday among 30 teams in attendance.

PIAA District One section IIII-Boyertown High School

Championship Finals

106 Aston White, Owen J. Roberts, won by tech. fall over A.J Garber, Downingtown West, 15-0; 5:29
113 Derek Gulotta, Owen J. Roberts, dec. Chase Brown, Spring-Ford, 4-0
120 Colby Frank, Owen J. Roberts, dec. Sean Hennessey, Spring-Ford, 5-0
126 Dan Pommerer, Downingtown West, pinned Jim Stong, Spring-Ford, 5:32
132 Demetri D’Orsaneo, Owen J. Roberts, maj. dec. Bo Johnstone, Octorara, 14-1
138 Adam Moser, Owen J. Roberts, dec. Jesse Quave, Spring-Ford, 7-5
145 Andrew Kinney, Owen J. Roberts, dec. Brandon Arnsberger, Octorara, 3-2
152 Kyle Shronk, Owen J. Roberts, dec. Jon Neiman, Boyertown, 7-6
160 Mike Lenge, Owen J. Roberts, dec. John Hartz, Unionville, 3-2
170 Gordon Bolig, Owen J. Roberts, dec. Gray Garber, Boyertown, 8-6
182 Chase Garber, Boyertown, pinned Nick Prange, Octorara, 1:56
195 Adam Pleines, Downingtown East, dec. Jordan Wertz, Boyertown, 4-2
220 Mike Boykin, Coatesville, dec. Matt Bartolotta, Downingtown East, 6-1
285 Brad Trego, Owen J. Roberts, pinned Will Hart, Unionville, 1:26


Third Place
106 Dylan Wertz, Boyertown, pinned Bob Murray, Unionville, 4:44
113 Mike Pommerer, Downingtown West, dec. Shane Ruhnke, Great Valley, 6-4
120 Eddie Kriczky, Boyertown, won by tech. fall over Scott Seidenberger, Unionville, 17-2; 2:29
126 TJ Nelson, Downingtown East, dec. Mike Caldwell, Unionville, 5-0
132 Noah Stephens, Coatesville, dec. Adam Dombrosky, Spring-Ford, 6-3
138 Zach Pfeifer, Unionville, dec. Reuben Maldonado, Boyertown, 9-4
145 Jason Dombrosky, Spring-Ford, dec. Matt Brownback, Coatesville, 4-1
152 Alex Wait, Downingtown East, dec. Jason Madanat, Downingtown West, 3-0
160 Cody Richmond, Boyertown, dec. Dan Lawrence, Spring-Ford, 3-1 SV
170 Gabe Hale, Downingtown West, dec. Tyler McGuigan, Spring-Ford, 2-0
182 Perry Hopkins, Unionville, pinned Tyler Rogers, Owen J. Roberts, 2:21
195 Mason Romano, Spring-Ford, dec. Javier Santiago, Octorara, 5-4 UTB
220 Steve Annan, Unionville, pinned Corey Snoots, Octorara, 3:41
285 Dean Lang, Great Valley, dec. Sean Snodgrass, Downingtown East, 1-0



Pin It

Share this post:

Related Posts

Leave a Comment